What I’m About

Hi! I’m Marlee Ward. I’m a business coach, marketing mastermind, & speaker.

Nothing gets me more fired up than life and business with Jesus at the helm, helping others pursue self-employment, and marketing.

I believe that God has given each and every one of us gifts to use for good and for profit. My goal is to help you figure out how to do that.

I also write practical, easy-to-apply business and marketing tips designed to help you grow your business (and your bottom line) for free.

My Story

Five years ago while sitting in my frigid office surrounded by accordion folders bursting with legal documents, a little small voice from the inner most part of me whispered, “You were made for more than this.”

And what started as a gentle nudge towards a call for more, turned into raging plea to BE and DO more.

And it wasn’t that I felt as though I was better than the work I was doing. It wasn’t that practicing law wasn’t profitable, respectable, or challenging enough to be a worthwhile pursuit. It was exactly that – it just wasn’t what I was meant to do.

No matter how hard I tried, my life as a lawyer only felt like I was settling for less than my best self had to offer the world.

If it hadn’t been for my steady diet of inspirational messages by Les Brown, Jim Rohn, Joyce Meyer, and my unyielding belief that God had more for me – that God Himself was “calling” me to more – I don’t know that I would have made it through that period of my life without losing all hope that I would one day do work that I was truly meant to do. But I was scared. I was unsure. I was ill prepared. And then, I was laid off.

The way I saw it, opportunity had landed in my lap. God had made a way out, and I knew that if I failed to seize the opportunity to live out my purpose, it might have passed me by for good.

It was the scariest step I ever took, and it transformed my life instantly. And despite the onset of a deep recession (not to mention being new to full-time self-employment), I made just as much money serving my clients in my brand new healthcare marketing business as I did practicing law – in less than a year.

It was liberating, empowering, and it helped me recognize the potential for “what could be” in my life.

I had wanted to pursue entrepreneurship for years before I actually took action. But I couldn’t see the path, I didn’t know where to start, and I wasn’t sure how I’d do it. So I didn’t – until opportunity struck and I harnessed the power of self-employment by leveraging the Web.

But my journey has not been without intense labor and times of difficulty. I faced fear, doubt, instability, and uncertainty. At times, I still do. We all do. That stuff just comes with the decision to live out the dreams of your life by Faith. It comes with the decision to step into your greatness.

Business Building Basics

